Panic at the Gym

Howdy y’all! Happy first day of Spring! How are you today?

I woke up at 5:30 a.m. this morning, and it was SHITTY of my body to do that to me!  I don’t know why I woke up so damn early, but I did. Oh well!

I was munchy this morning at 6:30, so I had a Pink Lady apple with cinnamon and nutmeg to cure my craving. Coffee for all at this hour, I say!

Breakfast

I had banana oatmeal AGAIN. What can I say, I’m addicted and it fuels my workout! Y’all already know my recipe, so I’ll just post a pic … I added extra chia seeds and almonds on top for a bit of variety. Absolutely delicious and filling.

Lunch

I had a scoop of chocolate Shakeology for lunch with milk. Easy peasy. (Luke had a shake for lunch too … his had a banana in it which I usually have too, but I’ve already had my banana for the day.)

Snack

I was needing a snack by 3:00, so I had some sliced bell pepper, some baby carrots, and some tomatoes with low-cal ranch and salsa. YUM! This definitely kept me full until dinner … I didn’t eat all of the ranch or the salsa that’s pictured, ha!

Dinner

For dinner I cooked some Parmesan-ranch chicken for the Luke-creature and me, and I made one tasty salad! Along with the chicken, I piled together a bed of kale and spinach with some low-cal cucumber ranch dressing and a touch of salsa, some Parmesan-parsley brown rice, a few baby tomatoes, some roasted zucchini, broccoli, and mushrooms, and some roasted sweet potato rounds with ketchup drizzled on top. I didn’t finish this big ol’ salad off and saved the leftover chicken and sweet potatoes for tomorrow or the next day. 🙂

Exercise and Mental Health

I went to the gym this morning and had a damn panic attack while I was finishing up on the elliptical! Boo, hiss! My mouth started to hang on open in an effort to breathe, my eyes crossed, my body went into hyper-drive, my breathing, heart, and thoughts were racing … I got off the elliptical, walked out of the gym quickly (trying to be inconspicuous), and climbed into my car.

I sat in my car for about 20 minutes, contemplated trying to call my sleeping husband for help, but eventually calmed myself down (I called my poor mom and she talked to me for a bit which helped) … it wasn’t easy to calm down, and it was rather scary to have a panic attack outside of home, I gotta say. I’m going to call my psychiatrist once he gets back from vacation and ask him if he can give me something to help, just for when I have these panic attacks. They come without warning, they’re rather new to me so I haven’t properly addressed them yet, and they’re absolutely horrid. However, I pulled myself together somehow and resolved to finish my workout with a walk.

My workouts today were the elliptical for an hour and burned 523 calories “according to the machines” … I say “according to the machines” because they’re not terribly precise, but I’ll go with it since I don’t have a fitness tracker! That’s something that I’d like to save up for though. And then after my panic attack, I did the treadmill for 30 minutes and walked/ran ranging from 3.8 mph to 4.5 mph (177 calories burned). With running, I have to be careful because I have osteoarthritis in my knees, but I’m trying to build them up a bit by doing slow, easy running and the elliptical. Then I came home and did some yoga poses and breathing exercises that my dear mom showed me, did my sit-ups, and lifted a few 10 pound weights too.

I’m proud that I pushed past my panic attack and finished my workout today. Mission accomplished, I’d say! 🙂

Do you ever have panic attacks? If so, what do you do in that situation?

Leave a Reply

